EC Healthcare (Stock Code: 2138)

SMILE FAQ

SMILE FAQs

LASIK requires a thin slice of the cornea (corneal flap) for vision correction, so the incision is relatively large. SMILE is a new laser vision correction operation requiring only a small incision of 2-4 mm without uncovering the flap, so the incision area is reduced by nearly 80%. Postoperative dry eyes and infections are reduced, and recovery time is faster. Moreover, there will be no flap-related complications after the surgery.

 

However, there is a misconception that SMILE is a new technology and should be better than LASIK. In fact, it is necessary to choose the appropriate surgical method according to your personal situation. If you have, for instance, hyperopia or myopia above 1000 degrees, SMILE can not be your choice.

Most people are suitable for SMILE. Yet, a detailed eye examination by an ophthalmologist is required to confirm this, as some eye issues, such as cornea too thin, cone-shaped cornea, severe lack of tear secretion, may go undetected. You can attend a free SMILE seminar at Vivid Eye Centre where an ophthalmologist will give you a detailed explanation and preliminary eye examination and evaluation will be conducted.

  • Ocular development not yet complete
  • Refraction not yet stable
  • Cornea too thin/Keratoconus (requires corneal collagen cross-linking)
  • Too high the refractive errors
  • Hyperopia (Long-sightedness)
  • Known eye disease (e.g. cataract, glaucoma)
  • Infection of the eye
  • Corneal scarring or other corneal disease
  • 嚴重Dry Eye/嚴重缺乏淚水分泌
  • Patients with herpes
  • Immune system disorders (e.g. rheumatoid arthritis, lupus erythematosus)
  • Prolonged use of steroids
  • During pregnancy/lactation

It is advisable to seek treatment for dry eyes first and if necessary, consult an ophthalmologist for advice and treatment. We also welcome you to visit our Dry Eye Centre, where we offer analysis and treatment for mild to severe dry eye conditions. The Centre incorporates the latest diagnostic techniques to identify the root cause of dry eye and pioneers the use of the latest and most advanced treatment methods.

A comprehensive eye examination, including a prescription test, corneal thickness and curvature test, is required before the procedure can be carried out. Accurate data can be used to formulate an appropriate vision correction plan. Prior to the first eye check, the client will need to stop wearing contact lenses.

 

  • Soft contact lenses (ex astigmatism): off for at least 1 week
  • Soft contact lenses (including astigmatism): off for at least 2 weeks
  • Hard contact lenses: off for at least 1 month
  • Contact lenses for vision correction: off for at least 3 months

The first examination and the SMILE surgery can take place on the same day at the earliest.

The surgery will be performed under local anaesthesia in the eyes, so the patient will not feel much. The process can be completed within 10 minutes.

There is a chance of presbyopia as the small muscles that pull on the lens usually begin to degenerate after the age of 40, causing the near vision to become blurred. SMILE can also tackle the issue of presbyopia. For more information, please contact our ophthalmologists or attend a free SMILE seminar.

Mono Vision is a solution to presbyopia, where one eye is responsible for long-range vision and the other eye for near vision. For example, one eye is corrected to near-zero degree and the other eye is left with 100 to 200 degrees of myopia.

Many people think that the surgery is only successful when there is no refractive error, but this is a misconception. The success rate of vision correction is within +/- 75 degrees. 90% cases are now within +/- 50 degrees, which does not affect their daily lives. Enhancement can be performed if the patient beyond a certain level of refractive errors considers it is affecting his/her daily life.

Yes, SMILE procedure only changes the curvature of the cornea and does not affect other eye tissues.

Yes, but additional collagen cross-linking is required. It is suitable for people with unduly-high refractive errors or extra-thin corneas, or those suspected of having the risk of keratoconus. The ophthalmologist will assess the client prior to surgery to determine if additional corneal collagen cross-linking is required. The cross-linking is a treatment of applying riboflavin (a vitamin B2) eye drops to the patient's eyes over which UV light is then directed for 45 seconds to 1 minute, strengthening the corneas as the corneal collagen fibres cross-link.

Enquiry & Appointment




We will contact you and confirm your booking.

*Required

醫思健康 上市編號2138

SMILE 檢查 FAQ

微笑矯視 SMILE 檢查及手術 FAQ

LASIK激光矯視需要在角膜上切一片角膜薄片(稱:角膜瓣) 才能進行矯視,因此切口相對較大。而SMILE微笑矯視是嶄新激光矯視技術,只需要一個2-4mm的小切口,無需揭開角膜瓣,所以切口面積減少近80 %。術後眼乾情況及感染機會減少,復原時間亦較快,不會有角膜瓣移位的問題產生。

 

但坊間有個誤解,很多人以為SMILE微笑矯視是新技術,一定比LASIK激光矯視好,其實需要根據自己個人情況而選擇合適手術方法,例如:有遠視,或近視高於1000度,SMILE微笑矯視便不適合。

大部份人都適合接受SMILE 微笑矯視,但需要透過眼科專科醫生進行詳細眼睛檢查才能確定,因為有一些眼睛問題可能未被發現,例如角膜太薄、錐形角膜、嚴重缺乏淚水分泌等。您可以參加唯視眼科的免費SMILE 微笑矯視講座,由眼科專科醫生詳細講解,屆時亦會有初步眼睛檢查及評估。

  • 眼球發育尚未完成
  • 度數尚未穩定
  • 角膜太薄/錐形角膜(需加角膜膠原交聯手術)
  • 度數太深
  • 遠視
  • 眼睛有已知疾病(例如: 白內障, 青光眼)
  • 眼睛受到感染
  • 角膜結疤或其他角膜疾病
  • 嚴重乾眼症/嚴重缺乏淚水分泌
  • 疱疹患者
  • 免疫力系統疾病 (例如: 風濕關節炎,紅斑狼瘡)
  • 長期服用類固醇
  • 懷孕期間/哺乳期

建議先醫冶好乾眼症,需要時應找眼科專科醫生咨詢及冶療。亦歡迎您蒞臨唯視乾眼症中心咨詢,我們提供輕度至重度乾眼症的分析和治療,結合了最新的診斷技術找出乾眼症根原,亦率先使用最新和最現代的治療方法。

術前需要先接受全面眼睛檢查,包括度數檢驗、角膜厚度及弧度測試等,才能以準確數據去制定適切的矯視方案。在第一次眼睛檢查前,客人需先停止佩戴隱形眼鏡。

 

  • 軟性隱形眼鏡 (不含散光):停戴至少一星期
  • 軟性隱形眼鏡 (含散光):停戴至少兩星期
  • 硬性隱形眼鏡:停戴至少一個月
  • 矯視隱形眼鏡:停戴至少三個月

最快第一次檢查及矯視手術同日進行。

矯視手術前會有眼部局部麻醉,因此客人不會有太大感覺。而且矯視過程10分鐘內便完成。

有機會有老花出現,因為通常40歲後,拉住晶體的小肌肉開始退化 ,令近視野變得模糊。SMILE 微笑矯視亦可以解決老花問題。詳情可咨詢唯視眼科的眼科專科醫生或參加免費SMILE 微笑矯視講座。

單眼視力(Mono Vision )方案可以解決老花問題,一隻眼負責遠距離視力,另一隻眼負責近距離視力。例如:一隻眼矯視到接近零度, 另一隻眼留下100-200近視。

很多人都認為矯視後眼睛度數變會零才算成功,這是錯誤觀念。 矯視成功率標準為 +/- 75度以內,現在有9成人都在+/-50度以內,不會影響生活。如果超過一定度數病人覺得影響生活,可以進行增進手術(Enhancement)。

可以,SMILE微笑矯視只改變角膜弧度,並不會對其他眼部組織構成影響。

可以,只需要額外進行角膜膠原交聯術。這是適用於角膜過薄、度數過深、懷疑有潛在錐形角膜風險的客人。眼科專科醫生會在術前為客人進行評估,決定有否需要額外進行角膜膠原交聯術。交聯術是把核黃素 (一種維生素) 眼溶液使用在病人眼睛上,然後用紫外線燈照射眼睛45秒至1分鐘,以達成角膜交聯,強化角膜。

咨詢登記




本中心將與您聯絡確認詳情,方為確實是次預約。

*必需填寫