EC Healthcare (Stock Code: 2138)

Eye Floaters
Vitreous degradation and opacity due to ageing

What are Eye Floaters?

Do you see any floaters in your field of vision, e.g. small black spots or blotches, threads, fragments of cobwebs? These are all symptoms of eye floaters.

Eye floaters are a condition in which the clear vitreous humour in the eye degrades slowly, liquefies and becomes opaque, forming small debris floating in the vitreous. When light enters the eye, the refracted and clouded tissue is projected onto the retina. What we see is the shadow of a floating object. Causes include vitreous degeneration, vitreous detachment and retinal holes, etc. But if you see flashes or the sudden appearance of a large number of floaters, these symptoms may indicate the possibility of retinal detachment. It is necessary to seek immediate medical attention and conduct an eye examination as ophthalmologists will advise on the proper treatment to prevent permanent visual loss.

Causes of Eye Floaters

飛蚊症成因 玻璃體退化

Vitreous degradation and opacity due to ageing

Vitreous detachment from the retinal surface

Vitreous detachment from the retinal surface

Eye bleeding

Eye bleeding

Diabetes

Diabetes

深度近視可導致飛蚊症

High myopia

飛蚊症成因 視網膜出現裂孔

Retinal holes

飛蚊症原因 眼睛發炎

Eye inflammation

Symptoms of Eye Floaters

飛蚊症症狀 出現黑點

Dark spots

飛蚊症 出現網狀浮游物

Floating cobwebs

Flashes in vision

Flashes in vision

Veil crossing vision

Veil crossing vision

Treatments

In general, as long as you are used to living with floaters and your daily life is not affected, you do not need treatment. If the vision is impaired due to large and many floaters, or the sudden onset of eye floaters or vision flashes, please consult an ophthalmologist and surgical or laser treatment for removal of vitreous is recommended.

Laser Therapy

This treatment aims at breaking larger and more centralized floaters into smaller pieces to improve and get rid of eye floaters. The procedure is painless and will be performed under local anaesthesia. This therapy, however, may not be suitable for all patients, for example, if the floaters are not loose or located too close to the macula or lens, it is not advisable to undergo laser treatment to avoid complications such as cataract or macular damage.

飛蚊症 激光治療

Pars Plana Vitrectomy

The vitreous humour is removed through a small incision and replaced with a solution to maintain the shape of the eye. Vitrectomy does not necessarily remove the floaters completely, and new floaters may form if the surgery itself causes bleeding or slash in the retina.

飛蚊症治療 玻璃體切除術

It is crucial to have regular eye examinations so that your doctor can be aware of any changes and help detect eye floaters and other abnormalities.

Floaters FAQ

Eye floaters do not go away over time, but they do become less noticeable and settle at the bottom of your eye.

In general, they do not affect the visual acuity and you can get used to floaters. If you see flashes or a sudden appearance of many floaters, these symptoms may indicate retinal detachment, which can be serious enough to cause permanent visual loss.

Enquiry & Appointment




We will contact you and confirm your booking.

*Required

醫思健康 上市編號2138

飛蚊症
眼內透明的玻璃體日益退化

飛蚊症是什麼?

在你的視野中,有看到一些浮游物嗎?如小黑點或斑點、線狀物、蜘蛛網的碎片等,這些都是飛蚊症症狀。

飛蚊症是當眼內透明的玻璃體日益退化,玻璃體會液化而變得混濁,形成細小殘屑在玻璃體裡漂浮。當光線進入眼睛,經過折射濁化的組織會被投射到視網膜上,我們看到的就是浮游物的影子。成因包括:玻璃體退化、玻璃體脫離、視網膜出現裂孔等。但若看到閃光或突然大量飛蚊的出現,這些症狀可能代表視網膜有脫落的可能性,應立刻求醫及做眼睛檢查,眼科專科醫生會作出適合治療方式,以避免永久性的視覺損失。

飛蚊症的成因

飛蚊症成因 玻璃體退化

年紀老化而玻璃體退化

玻璃體脫離視網膜表面

玻璃體脫離視網膜表面

眼球出血

眼球出血

糖尿病

糖尿病

深度近視可導致飛蚊症

深度近視

飛蚊症成因 視網膜出現裂孔

視網膜出現裂孔

飛蚊症原因 眼睛發炎

眼睛發炎

飛蚊症的症狀

飛蚊症症狀 出現黑點

出現黑點

飛蚊症 出現網狀浮游物

出現網狀浮游物

視野出現閃光

視野出現閃光

視野有層紗

視野有層紗

治療方法

一般情況下,只要習慣與浮游物共存,日常生活不受影響,便不需要治療。若浮游物太大或太多,飛蚊症突然發作或閃光,以致視力造成損害時,建議找眼科專科醫生進行咨詢及手術或激光治療移除。

激光治療

用於較大和集中的玻璃體浮游物並擊碎成更小的碎片,以改善及消除飛蚊症狀。過程中不會痛,會於局部麻醉下進行。但不是所有人都適合激光治療,例如:浮游物較鬆散或位置太接近黃斑或晶體,便不宜進行,以免導致白內障或黃斑受損等併發症。

飛蚊症 激光治療

玻璃體切除術

通過小切口移除眼內的玻璃體,並以溶液取而代之來維護眼睛的形狀。玻璃體切除術不一定完全清除浮游物,可能會形成新的浮游物,若果手術本身導致流血或視網膜撕裂的話。

飛蚊症治療 玻璃體切除術

定期進行眼睛檢查很重要,醫生可以瞭解任何變化,有幫助偵測飛蚊症和其他異常情況。

飛蚊症常見問題

飛蚊症並不會自行消失,但隨著時間會有部份沉殿。

一般情況下不至於影響視力清晰度,可以習慣與浮游物共存。若看到閃光或突然大量飛蚊的出現,這些症狀可能代表視網膜有脫落的可能性,嚴重可致永久性的視覺損失。

咨詢登記




本中心將與您聯絡確認詳情,方為確實是次預約。

*必需填寫