EC Healthcare (Stock Code: 2138)

Myopia Control for Children

Myopia Control for Children

Myopia cannot be reversed or cured, but it is possible to treat and improve your child's vision and prevent it from getting worse, safeguarding your child's eye health in the future. Vivid Eye Centre offers a comprehensive range of myopia control solutions and multiple options for children. With the professional analysis from the ophthalmologist and optometrist, we can provide precise control solutions, such as DIMS lens, daytime contact lens, OK lens, Atropine eye drops, etc., and track myopia according to children’s needs.

Myopia is when the eyeball is too long or the lens is too thick, which affects the ability to focus and allows light to fall in front of the retina, causing the eye to see blurred images in the distance and clear in the near.

Myopia could be resulted from congenital or acquired environmental, lifestyle and habits. As your eyes become more short-sighted, they grow longer.

在眼球變長時,視網膜也會被拉扯變薄,導致眼睛出現退化及併發症,例如玻璃體及視網膜退化,並增加視網膜破裂及脫落的風險。而較嚴重的併發症如Macular Degeneration則會令視力受損及影像變形等,嚴重者更有機會致盲。

Myopia Control Solutions

1Optical Myopia Control Lenses

The optical lens applies scientific principles and the design of a special myopia control lens to help wearer slow down the progression of myopia.

MiyoSmart | DIMS Spectacle Lens

The non-invasive patent technology Defocus Incorporated Multiple Segments (DIMS), co-developed by the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and lens manufacturer Hoya, are applied in the spectacle lens which comprises of a central optical zone for correcting refractive error and multi-segments of constant myopic defocus surrounding the central zone and extending to mid-periphery of the lens. It provides clear vision and myopic defocus for vision correction simultaneously for the wearer at all viewing distances.

Optical Myopia Control Lenses

The wearer needs to be reviewed regularly by registered optometrist who will use an eye-axis measurement device to closely observe the rate of myopia progression. If control is not as expected, an immediate referral will be made to an in-house ophthalmologist for follow-up and assessment. Additional control options, such as Atropine, may be recommended as appropriate.

兒童近視 光學控制鏡片
Daytime Contact Lenses

2Daytime Myopia Control Contact Lenses
Contact lenses*

MiSight® disposable contact lenses take advantage of the ground-breaking ActivControl® Technology to help reduce the likelihood of children suffering from severe myopia (more than 6D). Lenses are made of Proclear® material to lock in lens moisture and provide high oxygen permeability, ensuring the wearer comfort and eye health.

Disposable contact lenses correct myopia and allow children to enjoy clear vision without the constraints of rimmed glasses. Moreover, the practice is safe and hygienic as it eliminates the need for daily cleaning and sterilising.

兒童日間近視控制隱形眼鏡

The whole process will be followed by a registered optometrist who will explain contact lens wearing tips and the relevant care. 4 reviews for contact lens will be carried out across the programme (7 months) to track effectiveness and monitor eye conditions. If you experience any discomfort, you will be referred to our in-house ophthalmologist for immediate follow-up.

3 Atropine Eye Drops^

Medication is another option to improve myopia. The continued application of Atropine eye drops can slow down myopic progression in children. A small number of them may experience photophobia as a side effect at the beginning, which generally improves within a few weeks.

The whole process will be followed regularly by an ophthalmologist who will measure eye axis length and refractive error, observe the control effectiveness and eye conditions, and, if necessary, increase the atropine concentration or add on other control options. Individually served Atropine eye drops are more hygienic and safer than bottled drops.

阿托品眼藥水減緩近視加深
兒童近視控制 OK鏡

4 Orthokeratology
(Ortho-K)#

Orthokeratology, or Ortho-K, is the use of rigid, gas-permeable contact lenses to temporarily reshape the cornea by pressure to improve vision. You need to put on the lenses before going to bed and take them off when you wake up. You can obtain a clear view during the day without wearing glasses.

The approach will not cure myopia for good. Once you stop wearing the special contact lenses at night, the effect of myopia control will diminish over time and the refractive error will return.

Orthokeratology principle

The whole process will be followed by a registered optometrist who will explain contact lens wearing tips and the relevant care. 6 reviews for contact lens will be carried out across the programme (1 year) to track effectiveness and monitor eye conditions. If you experience any discomfort, you will be referred immediately to our in-house ophthalmologist for follow-up.

Myopia Control Solutions Comparison

Optical Lenses Daytime Contact Lenses Atropine
(Atropine)

Eye Drops
Orthokeratology
(Ortho-K)
Followed by Registered Optometrist Registered Optometrist Ophthalmologist Registered Optometrist
Principle Use of DIMS lens to inhibit myopia progression Use of DIMS lens to inhibit myopia progression Slow eye growth and reduce eye muscle pressure Temporarily alter the curvature of the cornea to reduce myopia condition
Stability of myopia control
Degree of convenience
Advantages Easy to put on and take off Can be fitted for myopia without the need for glasses Individually served, easy to use, safe and hygienic No glasses required for daytime activities
Points to note / Children need to wear and remove contact lenses themselves every day Must be prescribed by an ophthalmologist; Eyeglasses are required Children who rub their eyes unintentionally may suffer from corneal damage or infection
Age* >3 years old >6 years old >4 years old >8 years old
Refraction Myopia ≤600 degrees; Astigmatism ≤400 degrees Myopia ≤600 degrees; Astigmatism ≤400 degrees Any refraction Myopia ≤600 degrees; Astigmatism ≤200 degrees
Non-invasive
Effect Slowed myopia progression
by 59% in average in 2 years2
Slowed myopia progression by 59% in average in 3 years4 Slowed myopia progression by 67% in average in 1 years1 Slowed eye elongation by 43%3

*Subject to individual circumstances
^Users need to take Atropine eye drops every night before bedtime
#Users are required to wear the lenses to sleep for 6-8 hours each night

1. Yam JC, et al. Ophthalmology 2019; 126: 113–24.

​ 2. Lam CSY, Tang WC, Tse DY, Lee RPK, Chun RKM, Hasegawa K, Qi H, Hatanaka T, To CH. Defocus Incorporated Multiple Segments (DIMS) spectacle lenses slow myopia progression: a 2-year randomised clinical trial. British Journal of Ophthalmology. Published Online First: 29 May 2019. Doi: 10.1136/bjophthalmol-2018-313739

​ 3. Cho P and Cheung SW. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2012; 53: 7077–85. ​

4. CLEERE Study Group Early Childhood Refractive Error and Parental History of Myopia as Predictors

兒童近視控制常見問題

Common symptoms:

  • Tilting the head or narrowing the eyes to make themselves visible
  • Covering one eye while reading or viewing an electronic screen
  • Unable to see distant or close object
  • Claiming that they have blurred or double vision, etc.
  • Neglecting or confusing words when reading
  • Indicating that they have a headache
  • Blinking or rubbing their eyes frequently
  • Poor hand-eye coordination
  • Eyes appear to be red or watery

Yes, they must be prescribed and followed up by a doctor to measure the length of the optic axis and the dioptre to observe the effectiveness of treatments and monitor the eyes’ condition.

We have contact lenses that control myopia progression and Orthokeratology (OK-lens) services available. Registered optometrists will follow the case and teach proper contact lens fitting techniques and eye care techniques. They will also observe the effectiveness of treatments and monitor the eyes’ condition.

No, there is no age restriction. You only need to be examined by a registered optometrist and approved for fitting.

Enquiry & Appointment




We will contact you and confirm your booking.

*Required

 
Stay in loop with the latest news and subscribe to our emails

*Required

醫思健康 上市編號2138

兒童近視控制

兒童近視控制

近視無法逆轉或治癒,但可以治療及改善孩子的視力並防止其惡化,這對於將來保護孩子的眼睛健康很重要。唯視眼科提供全面專業的兒童近視控制方案及多樣的選擇。能按照小朋友不同的需要,在眼科醫生和視光師專業分析下,提供最合適的控制方案,如光學鏡片、日間隱形眼鏡、OK鏡、阿托品眼藥水等,及追蹤近視情況。

近視是指當眼球過長或晶體變厚,影響了聚焦能力,讓光線落在視網膜前面,導致眼睛看遠處影像模糊,而近的清楚可見。

近視成因有機會是先天性或後天環境及生活習慣而產生,隨著眼睛近視度數加深,眼球便會愈來愈長。

在眼球變長時,視網膜也會被拉扯變薄,導致眼睛出現退化及併發症,例如玻璃體及視網膜退化,並增加視網膜破裂及脫落的風險。而較嚴重的併發症如黃斑點病變則會令視力受損及影像變形等,嚴重者更有機會致盲。

兒童近視控制方案

1光學控制近視鏡片

光學鏡片利用科學原理及特殊的近視控制鏡片設計,協助配戴者減慢近視加深。

MiyoSmart | DIMS(多區正向光學離焦) 鏡片

由香港理工大學及鏡片廠商Hoya 共同研發。鏡片採用非入侵性專利D.I.M.S.技術,於鏡片中心設有「多區正向光學離焦」,用以矯正視力;鏡片外圍由約400塊1毫米的「多區正向光學離焦」排列而成,不論望向任何角度,都達到「近視離焦」用作,有助達到控制近視的效果,並提供清晰穩定的視力。

光學控制近視鏡片

佩戴者需定期覆檢,全程由註冊視光師跟進,採用眼軸測量儀器,緊密觀察近視改變的速度。如控制未如預期,將立即轉介內部眼科醫生跟進及評估,因應情況而建議額外採取其他控制方案,如阿托品。

兒童近視 光學控制鏡片
日間近視控制隱形眼鏡

2日間近視控制
隱形眼鏡*

MiSight® 日棄式隱形眼鏡採用了突破性 ActivControl® Technology,有助減低兒童患有深度近視(多於-6.00度)的機會。鏡片採用Proclear®物料,能有效鎖緊鏡片水份,並提供高透氧量,令小朋友配戴舒適,保障眼睛健康。

日棄式隱形眼鏡可矯正小朋友近視問題,讓小朋友不受有框眼鏡約束地享受清晰的視力,而且可以省卻每天清洗及清毒等繁複程序,安全衛生。

兒童日間近視控制隱形眼鏡

全程由註冊視光師跟進及教導正確的隱形眼鏡佩戴技巧和護理方法,計劃期內(7個月)提供4次隱形眼鏡覆檢,追蹤成效及監察眼睛健康,如遇任何不適反應,將立即轉介內部眼科醫生跟進。

3 阿托品眼藥水^

藥物治療是另一種改善近視加深的選項,阿托品是一種眼用藥水,持續使用能協助減緩近視加深,小部份兒童一開始會有畏光的副作用,普遍幾星期內會改善。

全程由眼科醫生定期跟進,測量眼軸長度及屈光度數,觀察控制成效及眼睛健康狀況,有需要會提高濃度或加入其他控制方案。獨立包裝的阿托品藥水,比樽裝藥水更衛生安全。

阿托品眼藥水減緩近視加深
兒童近視控制 OK鏡

4 角膜矯形術
(Ortho-K,俗稱OK鏡)#

角膜矯形術是透過硬性透氣的隱形眼鏡,以壓力漸進地改變角膜弧度,從而達到暫時性的視力改善。需要睡覺前戴上,起床時摘下,日間不用佩戴眼鏡亦能擁有清晰視野。

這方法並不能根治近視,一旦停止戴鏡,控制近視的效果會隨著時間減退,近視度數也會還原。

OK鏡原理

全程由註冊視光師跟進及教導正確的隱形眼鏡佩戴技巧和護理方法,計劃期內(1年)提供6次隱形眼鏡覆檢,追蹤成效及監察眼睛健康,如遇任何不適反應,將立即轉介內部眼科醫生跟進。

兒童近視控制方案比較

光學近視控制鏡片 日間近視控制隱形眼鏡 阿托品
(Atropine)

近視控制
角膜矯形術
(Ortho-K)
跟進人員 註冊視光師 註冊視光師 眼科專科醫生 註冊視光師
原理 使用光學離焦鏡片,以抑制近視加深 使用光學離焦隱形眼鏡,以抑制近視加深 延慢眼球增長,降低眼球肌肉壓力 暫時性地改變角膜弧度,減低近視度數
近視控制穩定性
方便日常生活
優點 方便佩戴及除下 可配近視度數,不用另外佩戴眼鏡 獨立包裝,方便使用,安全衛生 日間活動不需佩戴眼鏡
需要注意事項 / 兒童需要每天親自佩戴及摘下隱形眼鏡 必須由眼科醫生處方,仍需要佩戴眼鏡 兒童如不慎捽眼,有機會造成角膜受損或感染
適用年齡* 3歲以上 6歲以上 4歲以上 8歲以上
適合度數 近視600度或以下;散光400度或以下 近視600度或以下;散光100度或以下 任何度數 近視600度或以下;散光200度或以下
非入侵性
效果 2年內平均減慢
59%近視增長2
3年內平均減慢59%近視增長4 1年內平均減慢67%近視增長1 減慢眼球拉長43%3

*需視乎個人實際情況
^使用者需要每天晚上睡前滴阿托品眼藥水
#使用者須每晚佩戴鏡片睡眠6-8小時

1. Yam JC, et al. Ophthalmology 2019; 126: 113–24.

​ 2. Lam CSY, Tang WC, Tse DY, Lee RPK, Chun RKM, Hasegawa K, Qi H, Hatanaka T, To CH. Defocus Incorporated Multiple Segments (DIMS) spectacle lenses slow myopia progression: a 2-year randomised clinical trial. British Journal of Ophthalmology. Published Online First: 29 May 2019. Doi: 10.1136/bjophthalmol-2018-313739

​ 3. Cho P and Cheung SW. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 2012; 53: 7077–85. ​

4. CLEERE Study Group Early Childhood Refractive Error and Parental History of Myopia as Predictors

咨詢登記




本中心將與您聯絡確認詳情,方為確實是次預約。

*必需填寫